punjabi restaurants, punjabi restaurants in kolkata

The Best Punjabi Food in Kolkata – Try These Restaurants Today

I was living in Delhi for quite some time because of work. Recently, I have been transferred to my office to Kolkata branch. Obviously, I was excited about coming back to my hometown. Being a hardcore foodie, the first thing that struck my mind is ‘Oh finally! I will get to taste all my favourite delicacies that Kolkata is so widely known and recognized for.’ While I am fond of Bengali cuisine but I had also developed a strong liking for North Indian fare particularly Punjabi food because of my long association with the capital city. The smoking hot kebabs, the tongue-tantalizing tandoori chicken, the melt-in-the-mouth butter chicken – Ah! The very thought of these irresistible delicacies makes my mouth water. To my delight, the do not stand anywhere behind. Obviously, Kolkata is a city that is famous all over for its food. By food, I mean food from across the globe. So how can it not have authentic Punjabi food joints!

By now I have visited a good number of authentic Punjabi restaurants. While most of them are good, but I would particularly take names of a few of them where food is as authentic as straight from one of the Dhabas in Punjab located on the National Highway. If you love Punjabi food, do not miss visiting these restaurants while in the city.

Azad Hind

azad-hind-dhaba-kolkata
Holding a posh location right in the middle of the city, Azad Hind is truly a name to reckon with. While the restaurant welcomes gourmets throughout the day but the maximum crowd is to be found in the midnight hours and beyond. The best part about this restaurant is that they never disappoint the customers with their service. They are known to be super-fast and impeccable. So you do not need to wait for long to taste the mouthwatering dishes. If you are looking for a pocket-friendly option when your stomach rumble, Azad Hind is a great choice on any day. Order from their huge list of tandoori items; absolutely delightful! While this place is a heaven for the non-vegetarians, the vegetarians also have plenty of authentic dishes to select from the extensive menu. The first time I visited this place, the waiter suggested me to order Butter Naan and Chicken Butter Masala. I also tried their Malai Kofta. It would not be an exaggeration to say that they were even tastier than what I had in Delhi. Try this place!

Jai Hind Dhaba

jai-hind-dhaba-kalighat-kolkata.jpg
Howsoever low-key it may appear from the outside, this place is a gem. The inside although looks a little shabby and old, but the food does the talking here. I visited this place with a friend on the recommendation of another friend. I was totally surprised to see the kind of huge crowd and that too at around 12 in the night. Since I live just a few blocks away from this eatery, I frequently order food from here that has an excellent home-delivery service too. Chicken Bharta is definitely my personal favourite. You may also try Chicken Tikka Butter Masala and Chicken Butter Masala. I am sure you will love to be back here soon!

Honey Da Dhaba

honey-da-dhaba-kankurgachi-kolkata-north-indian-restaurants.png
Do you love tangri kebab or Kadai chicken? Then, this is definitely your place to be soon. The presentation is as superb as the taste. The staff is friendly and attentive. I was totally elated to taste the Kashmiri Pulao. The ingredients and herbs that they used imparted a unique taste to the recipe. I ended my meal with a huge glass of chilled lassi. Fantastic would be an understatement; I swear! The price was also average which made me very happy.

Rang De Basanti Dhaba

rang-de-basanti-dhaba-kolkata
One-of-a-kind restaurant, Rang De Basanti Dhaba is surely a great place to try authentic Punjabi food. Situated in the commercial hub of the city, Salt Lake, this food joint showcases a gorgeous décor. The yellow tractor on the premises creates an authentic setting. The ambiance is welcoming and cheerful. Lunch hours are particularly crowded because a large number of people working in the offices around choose to dine here. Although I am a pure non-vegetarian, I would love to visit this place every time for its Rajma and Dahi Ke Kabab. Their Murgh Kalimirch, Chicken Roll, and Bheja Fry cannot be given a miss either.

Shere-e-Punjab
The name itself speaks volumes about this place. Yes, the food here is also authentic. Accessing this place may take you some time but the wait is definitely worth it. Holding an offbeat location, away from the hustle and bustle of the city, Shere-e-Punjab has everything for a real foodie like me. Good food at great price! When I checked into the place, it was already very crowded. Grabbed a table quickly and requested the waiter for his recommendation like I always prefer to do. For starter, the oven-fresh tandoori chicken totally took me. So delicious was the taste that I got totally lost. Ummm… And their Makke Ki Roti and Sarson Ka Saag. A wow combo!

If you still have not been to one of these Punjabi restaurants Kolkata, you are truly missing out on something.

Leave a comment